With the spread of education across the country, the State of Odisha (Orissa) has fast emerged as a favoured education destination. Promoting education in every sphere is a priority for the Government with its 9 universities and numerous quality institutes both in Government and private sector. The universities in Odisha (Orissa) offer a wide range of courses to meet your needs and abilities and have tuned their curriculum to cater the needs of the global Indian workforce. The Utkal University, the Odisha (Orissa) University of Agriculture (OUAT) and the Biju Pattnaik University of Technology (BPUT)by imparting some specializations have significantly contributed in the areas of research, crop management and allied sector like fishery and the emerging hi-tech areas.

Mineral rich, but human resources poor, Odisha saw very few new institutions until 2000, barring traditional state universities. But the last decade saw the opening of quite a few institutions like IIT, IIIT and NISER.

Listed below are the top 10 colleges in Orissa.

Top 10 Engineering colleges in  Orissa:

1.Indian Institute of Technology, Bhubaneshwar

IIT-BBS started functioning from the IIT Kharagpur campus in West Bengal in the 2008-2009 academic year          and shifted to Bhubaneswar in 2009. The institute’s permanent campus is located at Arugul village on the       outskirts of Bhubaneswar. The institute currently has over 900 students and over 100 faculty members. The institute is promoting cycling as the convenient mode of transport as various blocks in the campus are around 1km away from each other and the nearest township Jatni is around 2km from the campus.

2.National Institute of Technology,Rourkela

NIT Rourkela, formerly known as Regional Engineering College Rourkela (REC Rourkela), is a publicly funded institute of higher learning for engineering and technology located in the steel city of Rourkela. It was granted autonomy and functional independence by the Ministry of Human Resource Development in 2002. NIT Rourkela is a deemed university. NIT Rourkela is largest engineering campus in the country after IIT Kharagpur and IIT Kanpur. ABP News has honored the institute with Outstanding Engineering Institute in East India and Best Government Engineering College in Odisha.

3.Veer Surendra University of Technology

It was founded in the year 1956. It is one of the best institute of technical education running under government of the India in the state of Odisha. UCE Burla was officially renamed as ‘Veer Surendra Sai University of Technology’ on 12 February 2009.Before getting University status it was the 1st educational institute in Odisha to be granted ‘Autonomous’ status in the year 1991. In 2012 VSSUT was awarded 12B status by UGC.

4.College of Engineering and Technology

CETB was established in 1981 by Govt. of Odisha as a constituent college of the ‘Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology . Since 2002, CET Bhubaneswar is a constituent college of Biju Patnaik University of Technology (BPUT). It has current intake capacity of 957. Recently the Government of Odisha considered to grant academic autonomy status to CET. It was believed that CET is the best campus of Technical Education in Odisha after IIT Bhubaneswar.

5.Central Institute of Plastic Engineering and Technology

The institute has got AICTE approval for conducting M.Tech, B. Tech, Post Diploma and Diploma programs in the field of Plastics Engineering and Technology. Biju Patnaik University of Technology (BPUT) and Utkal University has approved CIPET to conduct Research Programs leading to Ph. D degree.

6.Indira Gandhi Institute of Technology

This institute is one of the leading technical institute in the state of Odisha and is accredited by NBA, affiliated to BPUT University and State Council for Technical Education & Vocational Training (SCTE&VT).

7.Government College of Engineering,Keonjhar

Formerly known as ‘Orissa School of Mining Engineering’, GCE Keonjhar is a constituent college of BPUT. The institute initially started under Department of Industries, Government of Odisha in 1956 offering Diploma education in Mining Engineering and later in 1995 introduced degree curriculum.Thereafter in 1997 ,electrical & mechanical engineering branches were added as an expansion program. In the year 2006, Govt. of Odisha declared Orissa School of Mining Engineering (Degree Stream) as a constitute college of Biju Pattnaik University of Technology, Rourkela under self finance mode to develop it as a centre of excellence in the field of engg. & technology.

8.Government College of Engineering,Kalahandi

GCE  is a co-aid state government run constituent college of Biju Patnaik University of Technology (BPUT). The college provides B.Tech. degree in four disciplines of engineering: Electrical, Mechanical, Civil and Computer Sc. and Engineering.

9.Parala Maharaja Engineering College

Parala Maharaja Engineering College (PMEC), Berhampur is the first Government engineering college in southern Odisha. It is a constituent college of Biju Patnaik University of Technology (BPUT).

10.International Institute of Information Technology

International Institute of Information Technology, Bhubaneswar is an information technology higher education and a unitary university institute located in Bhubaneswar. It is one of the Institutes of national importance.It is a University Grants Commission (India) (UGC) recognised Unitary Technical University.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *