Bihar has been a major center of learning since the old times of Nalanda University which attracted scholars from all around the world.Bihar saw a revival during the later part of the British rule when they established a University at Patna along with other centres of high learning, namely, Science College,Patna, Prince of Wales Medical College and Bihar Engineering College (Now National Institute of Technology, Patna). This early lead was lost in the post independence period when the politicians from Bihar lost out in the race of getting centres of education established in Bihar.In spite of the meager investment on education in Bihar, compared to other poorer Indian states, the students have done well. National institutes of learning such as IIT, IIM and AIIMS, IISER, NISER have had a good representation from Bihar. A survey by Pratham rated the absorption of their teaching by the Bihar children better than those in other states.Bihar now boasts of premium colleges and excellent education centers.The top 10 engineering colleges in Bihar are:

1.Indian Institute of Engineering,Patna

The Indian Institute of Technology Patna (abbreviated IIT Patna or IITP) is an autonomous institute of education and research in science,engineering and technology located in Patna. It is recognized as an Institute of National Importance by the Government of India. IIT Patna is part of National Knowledge Network (NKN) which provides a high speed core networking for all the knowledge related institutions in India to integrate seamlessly all of the scientific community of India.

2.National Institute of Technology,Patna

The National Institute of Technology Patna (NIT Patna), formerly Bihar School of Engineering and Bihar College of Engineering, is a public engineering institution located in Patna. It was renamed to NIT Patna, by the Government of India on January 28, 2004.It is an autonomous institute functions directly under Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India.

3.Bhagalpur College of Engineering

BCE Bhagalpur), is a technology institution established in 1960 in Bihar. Earlier, the affiliation was under Tilkamanjhi Bhagalpur University (TMBU) Bhagalpur, Bihar; this was later passed on to Aryabhatta Knowledge University (AKU), Patna, which was established by the government of Bihar, under Bihar Act 24, 2008.The institute offers full-time Bachelor of Technology (B.Tech) degree programs in disciplines of science and technology: Computer Science & Engineering, Electronics & Communication Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Civil Engineering. BCE is administered by the Department of Science and Technology under the guidance of the government of Bihar.

4.Rajendra Agricultural University

Dr. Rajendra Prasad Central Agriculture University (previously, Rajendra Agricultural University) is one of 65 agricultural universities of India It is near Pusa Bazar, in Samastipur District.There are five faculties in the university in the disciplines of Agriculture, Veterinary & Animal Sciences, Agricultural Engineering, Basic Sciences, Humanities & Home Science, besides the college of agriculture, fisheries and institute of dairy technology. The university offers six undergraduate degree programmes, thirty three post graduate programmes and eighteen Ph.D. programmes. It is also the only university to provide an MBA in Agribusiness programme.

5.Muzaffarpur Insitute of Technology

MIT, Muzaffarpur) is a public,coeducational college in Muzaffarpur. It is wholly funded by the government of science and technology department of Bihar.Admission to undergraduate courses is made on the basis of merit in a competitive examination conducted by the Bihar Combined Entrance Competitive Examination Board.Bihar domicile students are eligible to appear in this examination. This is very tough competition after jee and AIEEE among all the states of country . Examination contains two parts PT & MAINS . Only 1000 seats are available in government . Admission to postgraduate programmes is done on all India basis based upon score in Gradituate Aptitude Test in Engineering (GATE) conducted by IITs/IISc.

6.Loknayak Jayprakash Institute of Technology,Chhapra

Loknayak Jai Prakash Institute Of Technology spread over 40 acres of land LNJPIT would be the 7th government Engineering College in the state.The plan is to make it a state of the art technology center and research hub. The first session was commence from 08/09/2012 with an intake of 240 students in four streams of engineering viz. Civil, Mechanical, Electrical and Electronics, and Computer science and Engineering.

7.Gaya College of Engineering

Gaya College of Engineering is a government engineering college managed by the Department of Science and Technology of Government of Bihar. It is approved and recognised by  AICTE and is affiliated to Aryabhatta Knowledge University in Patna.The Bihar Combined Entrance Competitive Examination Board (BCECEB) conducts the entrance test in two stages. The first stage is the screening test. The screened candidates appear in the mains Examination (second stage). Based on the Merit List of the Bihar Combined Entrance Competitive Examination (2nd stage), successful candidates have to go through counselling (third stage).For lateral entry in Second year, one must have passed Diploma in engineering/B.Sc. and should be in the merit list of BCECE(LE).

8.Darbangha College of Engineering

Darbangha College of Engineering (DCE Darbhanga) is a government owned engineering (B.Tech) college in Bihar inaugurated by Nitish Kumar in 2008. It is affiliated with the Aryabhata Knowledge University, Patna and approved by AICTE.The Bihar Combined Entrance Competitive Examination Board (BCECEB) conducts the entrance test in April–May for all Bihar government institutions in two stages. The first stage is the screening test or preliminary test .The screened candidates appear in the mains Examination (second stage). Based on the merit list of the Bihar Combined Entrance Competitive Examination (2nd stage) successful candidates are required to appear at the office of the Bihar Combined Entrance Competitive Examination Board, Patna. For Diploma holder students it conducts special exam named Lateral entry in April to July. Only one written exam is conducted and the students directly get admitted to 2nd year.

9.Birla Institute of Technology,Patna

Birla Institute of Technology, Patna is an educational centre offering undergraduate and postgraduate courses located in Patna.The student admission in Engineering & Architecture courses are done 100% strictly through JEE(Main) ranks.The Patna campus of Birla Institute of Technology was established in 2006, as a result of an initiative from the Govt. of Bihar. Since then it has been growing continously and establishing academic landmarks.The Patna Campus of the institute is first-of-its-kind,dedicated fully to the course of Engineering & Technology .

10.Nalanda College of Engineering

Nalanda College of Engineering is situated in Chandi near Nalanda. The college offers four undergraduate courses (CE, ME, EEE, CSE) in the field of engineering and technology.It was inaugurated on 19 November 2008 by the Bihar chief minister, Mr.Nitish Kumar. The new campus has been inaugurated with modern laboratories, library & workshp and its courses are recognised by AICTE and the Aryabhatta knowledge University, Patna. After 10+2 or appearing students can apply for entrance examination held by BCECE. colleges are offered through the rank obtained.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *